The Beatitudes

Do you have the eight Beatitudes memorized? If not, let’s get to it!

Here is an incentive: the Beatitudes form part of the Gospel for All Saints Day, which is next week. You can meditate on them ahead of time.

1 Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
2 Blessed are the meek: for they shall possess the land.
3 Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.
4 Blessed are they that hunger and thirst after justice: for they shall have their fill.
5 Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.
6 Blessed are the clean of heart: they shall see God.
7 Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.
8 Blessed are they that suffer persecution for justice’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.